Finds

My exploration of Japanese yarn brought Habu Textiles to my attention and along with it a number of interesting knitwear designers associated with the enterprise.

Habu Textiles has a base in New York and one in Kyoto (as Avril). They offer yarn in silk, cotton, rayon/ bamboo, linen, and wool, as well as the less conventional stainless steel, silver, and paper. The more uncommon yarn makes quite sculptural and architectural pieces and they work with the designers to make the most out of these. There are some very interesting designs. Here are two designers who caught my attention:

Ori ami knits by OlgaJazzy

Olga Buraya-Kefelian of OlgaJazzy and Ori Ami Knits, based in Japan. Her patterns and book can be perused and purchased from Ravelry.

Kirsten Johnstone

Collaborated with OlgaJazzy on Ori Ami Knits is Kirsten Johnstone, a Melbourne-based architect (who may interest the architect-knitters amongst us). She also works under the name Assemblage previously and her patterns are also available on Ravelry.

2 comments
  1. eleanor11 said:

    I had a look at Kirsten Johnstone’s website on my iphone on the train when you mentioned her in an email. Some of the patterns look great! I have been thinking about trying to make some of my own patterns (I already modify existing ones), so maybe I should take inspiration from her!

    • novice_knitter said:

      That’s exciting! I was thinking about how one would go about designing knitwear (not for me, though, I get too confused). I was looking at OlgaJazzy’s site – imagine designing knitwear, playing with yarn, and swanning around in Japan – I would like that.

      I like Kirsten Johnstone’s ‘Zaha’ and ‘Thursday’- both sold as kits on Habu and also available on her site and Ravelry. I wouldn’t mind having a go at knitting with paper or stainless steel.

      Your modelling photographs of knitwear (particularly, with the English garden backdrop) remind me of theirs.

Leave a Reply

