Sublime chunky merino tweed mobius

This mobius (a cowl with a twist) is knitted using the Sublime Chunky Merino Tweed in a moss stitch pattern with 10.0 mm circular needles. I bought the yarn from Blacksheepwools.com at their free world-wide shipping sales with the ribbed beanie in mind. After the kbl/ k1b saga, I decided not to knit another beanie using this yarn, but make a mobius instead.

In discussion with my knitting comrade, we both agreed that the Gaptastic cowl doesn’t really need to be that long. Having had a look at Jo Sharp’s Mobius images (not the pattern), I thought it would be quite good to base a project on her design. (Plus I gave the cowl to my friend, Louise.) Although I didn’t have the pattern, having knitted the cowl, it was just a matter of working out the desired dimension. I have a set of 10.0 mm circular needles with a 80 cm coil. The general advice is not to knit a fabric with width less than the length of the coil as this will stretch the fabric. So I casted on as few stitches as needed to cover the coil (97 stitches). I twisted the seed row while knitting the first row and carried on the moss stitch pattern until it was wide enough (using Jo Sharp’s images as a guide).

The final dimension is about 120 cm length by 15 cm width. This alllows 1 loop around the neck and hangs nicely when not worn as a scarf. The Sublime Chunky Merino Tweed is 80% merino which makes it very soft and non-itchy. Its 10% vicose and 10% acrylic make it light and springy. I have been wearing it everyday since I finished it. I would highly recommend this small project!

Question: I have come across a theory that you can use circular needles in place of straight ones – see here. What are your thoughts?

1 comment
  1. eleanor11 said:

    I needed to use circular needles for part of the Jo Sharp sideways top, until I reached the split for the neck. With nearly 300 stitches on a row it just didn’t fit on 35cm needles. However, I have switched back to straights now that I am just doing the front. I find the point where you have to get your stitches from the loop to the needle slightly annoying.

Leave a Reply

