Treacle v-neck vest – a lesson in tension and sizing

20120506-184439.jpg

This is the front of the Jo Sharp v-neck vest, knitted in the Sublime Merino, Cashmere, Silk DK yarn. Before starting I did some tension squares and that suggested that I should use larger needles than the 3.25mm suggested. I was getting the right tension with 3.5 mm needles so that was what I used. I also decided that the small would be too small (I am between the small and medium) so I kitted the medium. Unfortunately after nearly completing the front I measured the tension in the knitting and I was way over – I guess I knit tighter in my tension squares than normal. Once I had the front left done I measured it against myself and realised that it was going to be far too big. I couldn’t bear to rip it all out (the large amount of rib took a long time to knit), so I brought it up to Kidsgrove and measured it against MQ and it looks like it will fit her. So I’ve finished off the front and handed it over!

1 comment
  1. novice_knitter said:

    Frankly, tension squares have been making me very tense. I had a few disasters-type situations when I did ripped out nearly completed items. This will make me sound quite dim but it took me to realise that: (1) I need to tension squares even with recommended wool, (2) do the tension squares in specificed stitches, (3) do way more stitches and rows than you need (Jo Sharp recommends 40 stitches by 40 rows), (4) tension squares need to be measured without being attached to the needle and lying flat. I will tell you more about my sagas in my posts.

Leave a Reply

