Fisherman’s rib hat

This ‘Fisherman’s rib hat’ was knitted with Moda Vera 8 ply 100% wool, left over from the 3-colour ‘sideway jumper’. It’s a free pattern on the back of the ball band.

It was surprising easy and quick to knit. It uses 2 balls of 50g yarn (approx. 95m). The fisherman’s rib pattern is made up of a purl stitch and a knit one below stitch. I did have some trouble with sewing up (using mattress stitch) – the 2 sides become misaligned as they are sewn up. Does anyone have any tips on this?

The pattern goes from 6 months, 2 – 4 years, 6 – 8 years, to adult size. If anyone is interested, I am happy to share.

2 comments
  1. eleanor11 said:

    Can I have the pattern?

    Before I sew up I put in markers every 10 rows on each piece that I am joining so that I notice if I am becoming mis-aligned. My uncle Frank rather liked the lines of blue mousse that were threaded into the green mousse top and thought he might adorn his own clothes in a similiar manner!

    • novice_knitter said:

      That’s a good tip. I will try that next time I sew up. I will scan the pattern – shall I post it here (it’s free and I will put where it is from, so I don’t think it’s infringing copyright).

Leave a Reply

